Filters

1

Customer service ?

We purchased a wooden 3.5mtr umbrella on the 3/5/21 & it was delivered on time. The canvas is very good but the wooden ribs are very weak & not solid at all. Early September 2021 we noticed that one of the ribs was broken in half where it has a hole with the pivet pin, also noticed that it has an other cracked rib. We have sent 6 emails & not one respond. We did explain the problem & asked for an advice , but no reply, simply ignored We do not have the equipment to sent photo or video or how to scan. We paid $103. & we are very disappointed that we can not use the umbrella. We have 3 more umbrella that we purchased years ago & one of them is also wooden frame that we purchased 15 years ago & still very strong. We are very disappointed that you do not reply. That is not the way to treat customers

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Anita, Thank you for taking time to review your order! Your feedback helps us improve the quality of our services and products. I am sorry to hear that your experience with vidaXL was not as expected! I have contacted you via email to offer you a solution to your enquiry and I am eager to see if you are happy with it! Thank you! I wish you a nice day! Kind regards, Cristiana, vidaXL

10

Address fixation

Staff member replied really quick and attitude is really good! Hopefully i can get my product soon!

  • Would you recommend us? Yes
1

TERRIBLE

Very poor product quality Atrocious customer service

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Sofia, Thank you so much for taking time to review your order. Please note that your opinion is really important to us as we are always looking to improve the quality of our products and, in the same time, of our services. I am sorry for any inconveniences that you had to encounter! I have contacted you via email offering a solution, so please let me know if you are happy with it! Thank you! I wish you a lovely day! Kind regrds, Cristiana vidaXL

10

Couldn't be Happier

I bought a dog trailer from vidaLX, Unfortunately it was way to big for my little Maltese girl. The staff were so helpful they let me return the trailer and I received a refund. Very Happy, Buying online can be iffy.

  • Would you recommend us? Yes
10

Outstanding customer service

This is the first time that i deal VidaXL , they've handled my order very well from start to finish, great communication with clients and fast reply to your emails . Highly recommended vidaXL Keep up a great service

  • Would you recommend us? Yes
2

BAD

Scam atrocious customer service Products not as described Gave me the runaround, lies repetative stories, time off work waiting for courier that never showed up Thanks to PayPal I got my refund Buyers beware!

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Roula, Thank you so much for your feedback! Your opinion is very important to us as we are always trying to improve our services quality and products quality as well! I am sorry to hear that you encountered a not so good experience with us! I have contacted you via email to see if you are happy with the solution we found for you! Thank you! I wish you a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

2

Sent the wrong product

I ordered a table and they sent me a gate for a driveway? Customer service is slow, uninformative and pretty much useless.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Kenny, Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback! Your opinion is very important to us as we are always looking to improve our products and services! I am sorry to hear that you received a wrong product and, in the same time, that our customer service did not meet your expectations. I have contacted you via email to see if you are happy with the solution we found for you! Thank you! I wish you a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

1

Whatever you do, DO NOT buy from this company!!

I bought an item about three months ago. Looked beautiful on the picture but was faulty once I received it. Got in touch with them, they were quick to reply and organised a replacement. They were very fast when it came to picking up their item but then it took nearly a whole month to get the replacement - and I was given a tracking number that didn't actually work. Anyways, I finally received my replacement and, guess what? also faulty, just like the first one.. to the point that I doubt whether they had even replaced it in the first place. At that stage I decide to ask for a refund. I was told to wait 10 business days and got no sign of a refund. I contacted them and after a few back and forth of them giving the automatic standardized answers that I know off by heart by now, I was told to wait ANOTHER 10 business days. In the meantime I contacted my bank that told me that they were not able to see any transaction being made from vidaXL. I opened a dispute and am going to wait and see. If I don't get my money back asap, the next step is going to be me taking legal action. Never come across a company this bad before.

  • Would you recommend us? No
1

Paid for a product got nothing

I order an umbrella stand in July and to date have received nothing. I contacted vidaXL online who informed me my order had been lost. I gave them a second chance and three weeks later nothing again!!!! The online chat is useless. They have my money. I have nothing. And you can't contact them any other way than via chat because even if you email they don't respond. Avoid like the plague!

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Annette, Thank you so much for your feedback! Your opinion is very important to us as we are always looking to improve our services and products! I am sorry to hear that the delivery couldn't be honored and also that our customer service did not meet your expectations regarding their reachability! I have contacted you via email to see if you are happy with the solution I have founded! I wish you a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

10

very satisfying

had a very pleasing experience with the company quickly responded to a query I had would use them again

  • Would you recommend us? Yes
1

bad company, will never order again

I ordered an air track for my daughter. It's been 2 weeks, still not dispatched. I enquired about it, they are telling me that I haven't paid!!! I paid by MasterCard at the time of purchase and they ask for proof of payment. Ridiculous. I sent them the proof of payment. Still nothing, waiting for a clear answer of what's going on.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Isabelle, Thank you for taking time to review your order. Please accept my apologies regarding the inconvenient situation. I am sorry if your experience with vidaXL was not as expected! Your opinion is really important to us as we are always looking for improving our services and products. I can see that you are already speaking with my colleagues and I am sure that they will find a favorable solution for you. Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

1

Stay away

Really bad quality products. I paid over $150 for a rubbish bin that only lasted 8 months before breaking. I contacted Vidaxl of the faulty item, sent videos and photos and they told me they would send me another one once stock arrives or money back. 3 months later, after messaging them every week asking where my replacement is and having emails from them that they would replace it or money back, they wrote to me stating they have no stock and cannot complete refund. Absolute joke. You want quality products with good customer service? Go somewhere else.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Tiarna, Thank you for taking time and writing us a feedback! Your opinion is really important to us as we are always looking to bring improvements to our products and services! I really am sorry to hear that the quality of the ordered bin was not as expected! I have contacted you via email to see if you are happy with the solution we found for you! I wish you a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

6

Product poorly packed, but customer service very good

After a shaky start with slow delivery and missing parts (twice) to our order, the customer service team at vidaXL stepped up and made sure that we left as happy customers. Thank you.

  • Would you recommend us? Yes

Response from the business owner

Dear Simon, Thank you for your feedback! Your opinion is really important to us as we are awlays looking for improving our services and products! I am sorry that your vidaXL experience was not as expected!... I have contacted you via email to see if you are happy with our solution! Have a good day! Kind regards, Cristiana, vidaXL

1

Disgusting!

Brought 2x rattan outdoor 3 seaters at a total cost of $1500. One lounge has 2 boxes with the same parts rending me unable to build lounge as there are 3 separate boxes needed and I only have 2. After 2 weeks of back and forth emails VidaXL FINALLY agreed to take back the wrong box and replace it with the box I needed to be able to build second lounge. Well 1 MONTH LATER and back to back emails from them saying ‘It will be sent in the next couple of days’ ‘ Your replacement has been processed we are just awaiting approval!’ I’m still waiting! Ready to commence legal action as it’s beyond a joke. Will NEVER buy from them again!

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Amanda, Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback! Your opinion is very important to us as we are always trying to improve our services! I am very sorry to hear that your experience with vidaXL did not meet your expectations and the waiting was so long. I have contacted you by email to bring some updates regarding the replacement! Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

2

Vida XL Bed Frame Diagram - Drawings - unrecognisable Parts

I am a tradesman and I can't put this together - frustrating - the company needs to hire a new person to do these drawings - vida can expect many of these to be sent back. I don't even know by the drawings if I am missing anything, may be.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Scott, Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear that our Manual is not as expected when it comes to comprehension. Your feedback is very much appreciated; in this way we are able to bring some improvements for the quality of our products and services. I have contacted you by mail to see if everything is ok now. Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana, vidXL

1

Bad, Bad, Bad

After first response which sounded positive, just wait up to 72 hours for details on product to be picked up for return 4 days later nothing, attempted to contact, greeted by computer, attendant will be with you shortly; NEVER HAPPENED Tried to go to my account, locked out by alleged wrong password, will send new one in a couple of minutes; NEVER HAPPENED, still waiting They have taken my money and refuse to take responsibility They are obviously dishonest and need investigating by Govt department Don't deal with them, they will take your money and if you are not satisfied, too bad, no responsibility, you are locked out

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear James, Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our customer service! Your opinion is really important to us as we are always looking for improving our services. I have sent you an email to see if you are happy with the solution we found for you, Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Cristiana vidaXL

10

Brilliant

Very good customer service: prior to do my purchase , I had hesitation and many questions about the product but for every enquiry I had, I always got an immediate response; well done to the team. The product did not disappoint me.

  • Would you recommend us? Yes
1

bad quality ball path lights

I purchased 6 x ball path solar lights which only worked for 4wks before slowly fading to nothing, no night light at all, dead. I have been in touch with vidaXL with ongoing emails. I sent them a video as requested. I've been told a) parts are out of stock, b) send them a video (of lights that don't work at night) c) they are speaking with management to rectify - but nothing has been done. I now want a refund and contacting Australian Consumer Affairs because useless products (which are sold not fit for purpose) is only scamming. ORDER # 6110126509

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Nina, Thank you for taking time to review your order. We are sorry to hear the product did not meet your expectations and we would like to assure you that we are continuously working on improvements for both our products and services. I can see that you are already speaking with my colleagues and I am sure that they will find a favorable solution for you. Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Andreea vidaXL

1

Low quality product, arrived defective and looked nothing like the pictures

Ordered the vidaXL Reclaimed Storage Box Solid Wood. Product arrived defective with a misaligned latch and hole so the storage box was impossible to close and lock. The appearance of the box looked like it had been done by a child trying to make it looked reclaimed and it looked nothing like the photos on the website. Customer service was only willing to offer a tiny amount of compensation for a box that is useless. Products are not quality checked and photos are misleading, would not recommend vidaXL.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Brendan, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that your product arrived damaged. As a reminder, every vidaXL order comes with a 30 day return period in which the items can be returned for refund. After that, the products are covered with a 2 year warranty in which we would be happy to help with, for example, spare parts to help solve the issue. I will send you an email shortly to find the best solution for you. Have a good day! Kind regards, Andreea vidaXL

1

VidaXL sent wrong sized item

VidaXL sent me wrong sized item. Description said wire drawers on runners will fit a cupboard 300mm wide, The wire baskets and rails sent are only approximately 200mm wide, I did not need to install the product immediately and therefore did not discover THEIR error until after the 30 day exchange period. Now it is taking ages to get it exchanged or refunded. I went onto Catch.com to buy a similar product, only when I had already paid did the order state that the seller was VidaXL - it arrived today... and guess what? it is the same 200mm product!!!! - I hope the exchange on this recent purchase won't be as long winded as the previous one. It is THEIR MISTAKE. They should not advertise the product as being suitablefor a 300mm wide cupboard and then send a 200mm wide product which is clearly too small.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Pamela, Thank you for taking the time to review your order. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the item you purchased from us did not meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that we offer our customers a withdrawal period of 30 days upon delivery of their order, to decide whether they want to keep their product or not.After that, the products are covered with a 2 year warranty in which we would be happy to help with, for example, spare parts to help solve the issue. All the sizes and technical characteristics of our products can be found in the Specifications on our website. I can see that my colleagues are already aware of your issue and they are taking care of it. If there is anything else we could do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us. Have a nice day! Kind regards, Andreea vidaXL

1

The range hood did not work, and they will not honour the warrantee and fix or replace it

I bought and had an island range hood installed. The control panel was faulty and the range hood would switch off after a few seconds. They have no technician in the country so there is no option of getting it fixed. They offered a refund, but not to cover the cost of the installation I had already paid or to cover the cost and removal of the faulty range hood. They suggested I use the refund money to get a technician to make a new control panel and fit it!!!! Legal? safe? Warranty? The refund would probably pay to get the old range hood removed and be disposed of. This leaves me with $1000 in the red and with a hole in the roof. I have contacted them 4 times over the last 10 days, but no solution and no reply. So now I will have to take legal action.

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to review your order. This information is going to help us with improving the quality of our products and service. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the item you purchased from us did not meet your expectations and we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience created. I can see that my colleagues are already aware of your issue and they are taking care of it. I hope your problem will get sorted soon and if there is anything else we could help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us. Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Andreea vidaXL

1

STAY AWAY!

I'm surprised how this company is allowed to operate in Australia?!?!? They are scammers selling lowest of the lowest quality products and they are misleading customers!!!! Report them and stay away!!!

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Bobby, Thank you for taking the time to review your order and I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Unfortunately I could not find your order in order to sort out your issue. I have also sent you a private email, to ask for more information but I did not hear back from you.. Would you be so kind as to check this message and get back to me when possible? I am looking forward to hearing back from you. Kind regards, Andreea vidaXL

10

Very happy with this new (to me) company

My order was delivered interstate extremely quickly and the item was great quality and exactly as described on the webpage. Also, the tracking service was accurate and very helpful. This is the first time I've dealt with vidaXL and the whole experience was very positive.

  • Would you recommend us? Yes
1

missing parts

bad quality check you will get your item with missing parts first and last to buy from them

  • Would you recommend us? No

Response from the business owner

Dear Nasir, Thank you for taking the time to review your order. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the item you purchased from us had missing parts. I can see that you already spoke to my colleagues and it seems like the missing parts were already sent to you. I hope your issue will get sorted, if not, please do not hesitate to contact us back. Have a lovely day! Kind regards, Andreea vidaXL

9

super fast delivery

high quality sturdy great looking and comfortable chairs

  • Would you recommend us? Yes

Kiyoh Reviews

• Anyone can post a review, however all reviews will need to comply with our terms of use and the privacy policy
• We perform automated and manual checks to prevent false reviews as much as possible
• Reviews with a score below 6 are published 7 days after placement